Wide angle

MWG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm searching for a wide angle lens for my canon t1i guys. I want to keep it reasonable but I will spend around $800 max. I know that since I have a crop cam Im gonna need to go low if I want that ultra wide feel. A few of the lenses I have my eyes on are:

Canon 17-40 f/4l
Sigma 20 f/1.8
Tokina 11-16 f/2.8
Tamron 17-50 f/2.8

I know the tamron isnt a true wide angle but It around the size I'm looking for. I'm new to photography but I'm starting to catch onto techniques, and I'm throwing in my own style into it. Having a blast for sure. I really enjoy taking pictures of landscapes, buildings, and nature. I would like to get a wide angle that is versatile, if there is such a thing. I'm also gonna buy a canon 50 mm 1.8 to go with my wide angle. Any comments guys and girls?

I got the Tokina today, love it! Also love my Sigma 18-50 f/2.8.

Main blog link in my sig has a post from today with samples from the Tokina.

Personally I am thinking about getting the Sigma 12-24mm, which is a lens for a full frame, on a 1.6X crop factor such as the T1i it gives 20mm on the wide end, I heard it has low barrel distortion at the wide end and it is very sharp. Plus if you ever got a full frame camera it can be used on it.

The Canon 17-40mm f/4L, Sigma 20 f/1.8/ Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, on a T1i will not be Ultra wide, the Tokina will. Also another lens to consider is the new Sigma crop lens 8-16mm which will give you a 12mm FOV (35mm equivalent).

I bought the Tokina 11-16. I read many comparisons of other UWA lenses against it and it always seemed to come out on top. I get mines tomorrow :D

Personally I am thinking about getting the Sigma 12-24mm