Wide variety of birds today

Aloicious

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.photographywild.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Was out at the waterfoul preserve today, everything is still really iced over and cold, but I did see several varieties of birds out that I thought were interesting...I only got there about an hour before sunset, so light faded fast, had to push the ISO a bit too much on several of these, and the IQ suffered due to that and the need to crop alot on several of them. but these are some of the better ones from the visit.

There are quite a few pics, I'm not really looking for C&C on every one or anything like that, just sharing them, if you have C&C for a specific one or something, feel free to post it up, I'm still learning wildlife and birding.

Hawks:
1:
hawk2_zpsdf876b8d.jpg

2:
hawk3_zps5fe196ca.jpg

Owl:
3:
owl1_zps86195a37.jpg

4:
owl3_zps333271ba.jpg

Eagles:
5:
eagle7_zps629a4e25.jpg

6 (and great blue heron):
eagle6_zps8beca3d5.jpg

7:
eagle8_zpsc688495f.jpg

Great Blue Herons:
8:
heron1_zps4a3c0abe.jpg

9:
heron3_zps23884a75.jpg

10:
fish1_zps86ba2ff6.jpg

11:
heron2_zps7dfab4cc.jpg

sorry for the image heavy post, it was just a fun couple hours out shooting and looking at all the different birds, I'll have to visit this spot again once the lake starts to thaw and they can really go out fishing, I hear this is a hotspot for bald eagles during mid february, so that'll be fun.

Last edited:
These are very nice captures. I like 4, 5, 8 and 9 with the BIFs. No. 7 with the two baldies looking the same way is a wall hanger.

WesternGuy

I'd be absolutely thrilled with my day if I came home with just ONE shot like any of the above!
The first two almost look like paintings (and I mean that in a good way).

And I agree, that photo of the two eagles together--if I'd taken that, it would be going on my wall.

Thanks guys,