sm4him

In memoriam
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
sm4him.500px.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay, this isn't "exactly" the typical "which tripod" thread, but it's pretty close.

The thing is, I *have* a tripod. Two actually: A perfectly good, incredibly sturdy older model Manfrotto one. But, it weighs a TON. No, not literally--it's just really heavy.
Then I have a "decent" Promaster tripod. It's much lighter than the Manfrotto, but still probably 5 lbs. or so, doesn't fold up terribly small and has plastic leg locks. It was a gift, so I use it, but it's not ideal.

What I need is a much more lightweight, but still sturdy tripod for taking on hikes or when I'm traveling somewhere and don't want to have to include the big, heavy tripod in the luggage.

I've got that big birding lens, the Sigma 150-500, but don't really see using it with this new tripod much. More often, I'd be using a gripped D7000 with a smaller lens, 50mm, 18-55mm kit lens, or a wide-angle lens if I ever get one.

When I'm at home (including driving to local places where I don't have far to walk), I'd still be using the solid, heavy Manfrotto. This new tripod would ONLY be for trips where I really want the tripod but just can't bring the heavy one along for whatever reason.

So…I don't want to spend a mint on this thing. I'd say $200 is my upper limit.

With those parameters in mind: What do you all think of THIS tripod? Not a brand I recognize, but it sounds pretty promising.

I have that exact vanguard tripod too which IS much lighter. Of course there's no super light and sturdy tripod, but this is definitely good for slinging on the shoulder and carrying.

Never heard of the brand; it looks like a Gitzo knock-off and seems decent, but a full-on CF tripod for $150 WITH head seems a little suspect to me.

Last edited by a moderator: