You light up my life

WavMixer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings all! I am relatively new to photography and have much to learn. My background is more with graphics (Photoshop) and web programming. I work for a jewelry manufacturing company where I take photos of jewelry and place them on the web. I have been shooting with a Canon Rebel T1i using EF100mm f/2.8 macro USM and EFS60mm f/2.8 macro USM lenses with 3 compact florescent lights (left, right and top). I have seen other jewelry photographers using strobes, usually 3 (left, right and top) and I see how their pictures are so much better than what I can produce. These photographers are very tight lipped on sharing information on what kind of strobes and camera settings they use and I do understand that this is how they make their living. I'm hoping that someone here can recommend a strobe lighting setup that can help take my photography to the next level. I have looked at Samy's web site and found the Elinchrome D-Lite RX 2 and the Westcott 3-Light Strobelite Kit that are within the price range that my boss will allow. With me being a novice at photography and knowing how a lot of sales people may want to lead me to a product that makes them the larger commission, I feel like a deer caught in the head lights trying to figure out what I need to get. The jewelry that I shoot is white, yellow and rose gold with white, brown and blue diamonds. I'll also be shooting jewelry with ruby, emerald, sapphire, tanzanite and tsavorite. So there is a wide variety of stone colors and they really need to pop with as little Photoshop retouching as possible.

So that's my story, can anyone here shed a little light on the subject?

Last edited:
So that's my story, can anyone here shed a little light on the subject?
We've been blessed by having some experienced jewelers who are excellent photographers as members.