Zoning in on a concept..

Lsatblu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I am going to be a senior this year in graphic design. I need to start working on my senior project and zone in on an idea to go with. The majority of my project needs to reflect my design skills and everything I have learned. I will show plenty of examples of typography and use of the grid throughout my project. I do however want to include photography to support the type.

Right now I am an intern at a magazine in NYC. I am around photo shoots and I have plenty of time to browse through magazines owned by the company and I have fallen in love with it. For my senior project I want to run with the idea of either a fashion magazine or book that would have pictures of models and type that relates to the image.

I am having problems coming up with a concept though. Having pretty pictures with interesting type experiments is not enough. There has to be something that connects them all which will be the main theme throughout the book or magazine.

I have plenty of friends who will jump in front of the camera for me but I can not just take pictures without a concept behind them. I was thinking something like a book that represents New York that is stylized with high fashion. I don't want to take pictures of ordinary things, so I see myself shooting my friends all dressed up in a party scene, lake scene, shopping scene, etc..I am not sure if this is a strong enough idea though.

I am open to any suggestions anyone has. I would love to hear any ideas you all have that could connect my editorial images to typography.

Thanks. [SIZE=-3]:heart:
[/SIZE]

This is going to sound silly... but start watching Sesame Street. They do really cool stuff with letters in the Park, or on the street... people moving around letters. Set your TiVo.

Type fonts have their own unique character and history.