Best editing software?

JeramyJ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I realize the answer to this question may be very subjective. However, I am struggling between the broad array of options on the market right now. I need a good general photo editing tool. I shoot in both JPEG and RAW. More Jpeg than raw really. I have used Picaso, Gimp, and have just recently installed Lightroom 3 Beta.

I would like a tool that does just about everything. I am not as concerned about file management as I am about the actual processing. I am seriously debating between Elements (Whatever Number is now available), and Photoshop CS4. I assume the CS4 will be way above my head in the ease of use department. Although, I have no real experience in that area. Any insight here?

Elements should give you the tools needed for photography, CS4 has a great deal more options, but your paying a great deal of money for software that is heavily weighted for graphic designer not photographers.

I guess it depends how serious you are about your editing.

Both GIMP and Elements are limited to an 8-bit color depth.

CS4 has many tools that allow editing in a 16-bit color depth and has an expanded ACR capability for editing your RAW images. Additionally, CS4's tools have more options that do the same tools in Elements.

An alternative to Photoshop is Corel's Paint Shop Pro (PSP).

Last edited:
thanks Keith, i had forgotten about the bit depth which can be critical. At least for me it is :)

Thanks for the replies. CS4 it is then I suppose. Will try to find a deal on it.

JJ

thanks Keith, i had forgotten about the bit depth which can be critical. At least for me it is :)

there recently has been some new developments regarding this aspect of the GIMP. i currently use 2.6.7 which has GEGL ported and shown as a menu option.