Buy a Camera, Start A Business?

thenikonguy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm not one to judge.. but, it seems that people think they can just buy a camera, and start a business... what ever happened to learning your art, assisting someone and learning from them.. why does it seem that more and more people think they took a great picture, so they should start a business?

Am I the only one seeing this? I know people have to start somewhere.. but I think theres more to being a photographer than just having a camera... I studied for a long time, and then worked along side different pros for a long time before I even considered doing anything by myself, other than family photos.. did I do it wrong? or are people just jumping ahead of the game...

Sorry for the rant.. I've just seen a LOT of threads lately where people just bought a camera and are starting a business, even though they've only taken a few photos.

Just because you've spent $1500 on a camera, doesn't mean its time to start a business.. it takes time.. I'm all for people boosting up their own ego and calling themselves a photographer.. even though they don't know any of the finer points of their art... but should you really be advertising yourself as someone who knows what they are doing, when you still are learning how to shoot.. .

i think its happening because the market is there, the elite photographers are always going to have the better jobs and create a better final image/product but it is so easy to break into getting paid for photography that it probably wont let up any time soon.

Heh, you don't even address the idea of creativity and talent, either. It's more important than camera choice.

Whatever, though. The cream always rises to the top.