Canon Rebel features

Dubie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Wow there are a lot. Those of you that own one do you find yourselves using every single one of them? I am still perusing the manual and I am impressed with all you can do.

I haven't come close to touching them all, but then again I've had it less than a month and I'm very new to this all so I'm still working on getting the exposure correct while trying to get it composed at least somewhat correctly.

You have to remember that these cameras are made for a wide variety of people and situations. Canon (and most all manufacturers) put on features that they think will appeal to their target market. The top end cameras don't even have a built in flash...because someone who buys those cameras wouldn't be caught dead using the built-in flash anyway. Sometimes they do silly things, like include an external button just for 'direct printing'...I don't know anyone who buys a $1000+ DSLR camera and then sends prints directly to a Canon printer.

I can't remember ever using the 'picture' modes on my cameras. You know the one I mean...portrait, sports, landscape etc. Those are there for people who don't really understand the basics of exposure, shutter speed and aperture. Those modes don't actually do anything that you can't do in Av, Tv or Manual.

I guess it's nice to have all these features...but really, there is no need to use them all.

I guess it's nice to have all these features...but really, there is no need to use them all.

I agree. Other than my first day with the camera before I purchased the Understanding Exposure book, I haven't gone back to any of the automated modes. I absolutely hate the built in flash. It seems to cause more problems with the pictures than it helps, so that is the next thing on my list to get.

I sure do find a way to get into the most expensive hobbies.