FIlm or Camera?

sweptvolume

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Houston, Texas; Russellville and Fayetteville, Ark
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I went to Walgreens to have some 35mm practice film developed. Only 4 pics developed, and the rest of the negatives didn't look like they took any light at all. Only thing i can think of is that the film didn't advance, but I know for a fact it did. The pics weren't important, but the only other info I can add is that it seems as though the camera isn't focusing correctly. It's a Canon AE-1 that has been in a closet for 15 years, think I should just go ahead and have it cleaned and let them do any calibration it might need? I'm thinking it's an issue with the camera itself, but it's hard to say...?

is it possible you got your f stops confused and thought, while taking pics in low light situatoins, that the higher the number = the wider the aperature?

I did that once when I was a photo noob. Resulted in a whole lot of black images.

Getting it cleaned after so many years dormant isn't a bad idea. If you place it at a fast speed like 1/500+ how does it sound? Crisp, clear, clean. Is there a delay, or does it take the shot as soon as you push the button? Sometimes the grease will gum up, but if you actuate it 50 times or so at its fastest speed it can get that old grease to work again.

Did you use a flash??? What were the conditions you were shooting in?? Did you follow the meter??? Is it an AE-1 Program did you use Program?? Do you have a new battery in the camera?? I think answering a few more questions would help before shelling out money for a calibration. Also if you want to really do a good test of the meter in the camera shoot a rool of slides through it. This way you will get exactly what you shot and noone will be able to manipulate your images for density.