Manual Shooting Issues

darkblue-x

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to shooting full manual and there is without a doubt a lot of trial and error, but I was wondering how I could improve...

I tend to have an issue determining my scene and exposure. I try not to shoot anything that is backlit because I understand it will turn out like crap.
On sunnier days, I move Exp. Comp. down usually to about -0.7 to -1.3.
I'll often reduce aperture, and accordingly have to slow down shutter speed.
As far as ISO. I have a tendency towards trying to keep it down to as low as possible. More often than not I have it set to 200 max.

I just recently downloaded Lightroom (in place of using VSCO) and I can clearly see a lot of photos I take are overexposed by what I understand of the histograms (there is a lot of clipping). Often where the subject is not caught properly at all; where I miss the crucial data that I am trying to capture.

It's a bit of a struggle and I have been feeling discouraged with all of these things that I am not grasping properly together.

I feel that perhaps I'm marching down the wrong path for my skill level perhaps and that there may be some things that are a priority for me to learn before mastery of the three pillars (shutter, ap, iso).

I used a Nikon D3300.
35mm Prime f/1.8g
70-300mm ED VR.

Eager to hear suggestions and ask again questions..

Back in the day of "manual only" you had to learn exposure before anything else.
The metering mode you use will affect your exposure, as well.

Back in the day of "manual only" you had to learn exposure before anything else.
The metering mode you use will affect your exposure, as well.

I forgot to mention metering. I have gotten away from Matrix because it doesn't tend to read scenes well for me. I try to stick with center-weighted and spot.

Try posting some examples with full EXIF.

Export as a JPEG. The original stays as it is and LR makes a copy.