Need help on how to make a shooting to wrestlers.

Casanova

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys im David Casanova and im a beginner on photography and i have been asked to make a photoshoot to a group of wreslters and i have never done that, i need tips and advice, any thing is appreciated thanks!!

You'll need to provide more information.

Will they be wrestling, or will it be a group portrait?

Assuming it will be inside, how much light will there be?

What camera? What lens? Do you have a hot shoe flash unit?

ok we will be backstage and the light i dont know the names for those types of bulbs, but they are this lights i.imgur.com/priHt.jpg (625×479) (you may have to copy the link and paste it on a new tab to work) and its gonna be group, one by one, group of three, (they wont be wrestling) you name it. i have hot shoe, but not the flash unit yet.

Camera Nikon D3100 Lens 18-55

Last edited:
Welcome. and good luck!

Those lights are generally called par cans.

This seems like a fairly straightforward shoot. Start by figuring out what background you want -- presumably something not too distracting that is clearly in a gym (or whatever the setting is). You may want to open up your aperture all the way to blur the background.

Next, figure out what your ambient light is doing. Are the par cans casting a harsh, directional light? Or is it even and soft? And is it an unusual color? Put a subject in the shot without a flash to see how the ambient light affects them. If it's ugly, find a new location.

If you don't have a flash, you'll have to rely on the ambient light, so position your subject so that the light is flattering. Watch for hard nose-shadows and dark circles on the eyes. Make sure the face is exposed properly, and not too blown-out or underexposed, which can happen easily with stage lighting.