newbie here... looking for 1st SLR... need help

What camera do you have? (if more than one, pick fav)

• Total voters

matson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey, i'm new to the forum, but not to SLR's... i've borrowed them from others for years... but i'm horrible... dad was good, very good, but i never wanted to learn... now i'm in my 30's and want to learn...

i would love to have the convenience of being able to see my results on the back screen immediately, like on the D70 camera, but when i calculate how many shots i assume i would take a week on a [film] SLR, and do the math, a dSLR would not pay off for 2yrs for me... so it would be MORE than worth it for me to get used to a SLR (thinking of the N75) for a year or two... i mean, i could get new model (n75?) for less than $150, use it for 1-2yrs, sell it with much less loss (from what i see on eBay) than dSLR's have to deal with, then have a few lenses that i can use on the new D7000 (or whatever they call what is out in 2yrs...)... besides.. i don't have the cash to spend on a good dSLR right now, even if my math IS wrong...