Portrait Shots

bosstatus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a noob as you will probably be able to tell by my photographs, but I was wondering if you guys could give me any tips on my portrait shots, as they are my favorite shots to take. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

2763854269_8498d71f53.jpg

2704168125_20291037e7.jpg

2704932971_4165845fa6.jpg

4. I did a small amount of post processing to give this one an older look.
2764152982_1b47aaba1f.jpg

2764152956_15caef99d6.jpg

5. edited. I took the power cord out. still have a lot to learn about editing. to the left side of her head you can still see some blurriness. I had a hard time cloning the carpet and then blending it in with the rest of it.
2765185231_f72ece754d.jpg

2720425192_f11c4da327.jpg

2714900558_aa534ba5c1.jpg

I'm shooting with a Nikon D40 and the 18-55mm kit lens. I'm currently absent of photoshop so I do very little post processing.

Thanks in advance everyone.

Last edited:
Okay, hold on to your hat, here we go:
Overall, they're a nice group of images, however, they're not all what I would class as portraits, at least not in the pure sense. A protrait is [generally] a planned and composed picture taken in controlled circumstances, achieving an expected result.

1. This is a good, strong profile shot, well exposed on the face, but suffers from an over-exposed and distracting background.

2, 3. Not bad, I think this would work better with a closer crop on the face. The B&W is nicely done.

4. A cute idea, but would work better as a portrait (vertical) aspect, showing her top of head to waist.

5. Cute, well exposed (albeit just a little bit bright on the face due to flash), be careful of things like her cropped left elbow. Note the background in this image, very cluttered, and less than attractive. THe grey floor is ideal, and a matter of two seconds would have cleared the powerbar out of the way.