"PRO" mode?

Thebigbarkhouski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to photography and have been only shooting in M mode for the last few months, I feel I'm getting the hang of it.....but what about those other modes? I'm reading more and more of people who use A most of the time and some people who only use P. What do you use? What do the "pros" use? As a newbie what should I use?

You use whatever mode you need to get the result that you want, either for yourself or your clients. :)

^This.

Not a pro, but if I don't want to "chase the meter" I'll go with Aperture or Shutter priority, depending on the desired results. I've never used P mode, except as a class exercise.

Most "pros" (whatever that means these days is up for debate!) use Manual mode for all flash photography. When shooting flash pictures, I would say that 99.5% of the time, the best choice is to have the camera in M mode, with a set shutter speed, and a set, pre-determined f/stop. Due to the way flash works, Manual exposure control is normally the most logical,safest,most-predictable mode to shoot in.

I would say that as far as regular work, most pros use manual mode a lot, but a lot of pros use aperture priority automatic, which Canon calls Av, for Aperture value. This mode is very fast, and it's easy to look at the settings in the viewfinder, to keep an eye on things. It also works great with +/- Exposure Compensation (also called EC) dialed in.

There's a segment of new pros who rely on the newer cameras that have superb sensor performance, and who use AUTO ISO exposure setting combined with +/- EC to get the right exposure parameters for BOTH the shutter, and the f/stop, as well as keeping the image well exposed despite rapidly-changing backgrounds; this is becoming a new way to shoot things like wildlife and action.