severe weather photography

drmcninja

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to still photography, but I'm in the market for a DSLR camera so I can start photographing severe weather cloud formations, tornados and lightening this spring. (prior to this everything I had done was videography) I'm thinking about a Nikon D5000 for a camera body but don't know if this will allow me the verstility to do nightime lightening photography.

Canb any experts help me with advice for lenses, kits, or other camera body options?

Thanks
JB

Speed and exposure-wise, yes, but construction, no.

At least look into a camera that's sealed. So if it's Nikon, it's the D300 and up. Canon, the 7D or 1D. At least look into something that can physically take the elements.

God, it's like you people are baiting me.

**cough cough Pentax has more affordable sealed bodies and lenses than any other brand cough cough cough**

If Pentax could boast more than 1.2% of the market share........

They're working on it. And what does that have to do with the fact that you can have a completely sealed bodies and lens for Less than half the price of a D300 body. To which you'll say, but it's not as good as a D300. Of course it's not, it's a consumer level camera, and a sealed kit lens. But the OP isn't looking for a D300, or they would just one, since it's sealed. The OP is looking in the d5000 range. Everyone else is saying that if you want a fully sealed package, your options start above $2500, and I'm saying, no they don't. You can get a fully sealed kit from Pentax from $800 for a K200d and 18-55 sealed kit lens, to $2000 for a K-7 and 16-50mm F/2.8 pro-build sealed combo.

I'm using a canon xs. I plan on doing some lighting soon here in Florida. I was just going to have a bag over the body and lens for the most part, if it rains. Whislt it's raining I won't be shooting and I hope to be close to my car at that. Suggestion and is it a bad idea? Hope it helps.