Would the D7000 be too difficult for me to use?

Yvonne_Dubai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, so I've made it pretty obvious that I'm a beginner, but a beginner who really, really wants to learn. Photography will never be more than a hobby and I don't expect I will ever be able to take pictures like all of you can, but I just really enjoy being creative and to push myself to whatever level I can make it. I've been looking at cameras and after reading up about all different types I think I like the Nikon D7000. Reason being that it's apparently slightly better at taking pictures indoors which I do a lot because of my students (e-portfolios).

Now, I have read up on the D7000 and I'm wondering, might it be too difficult a camera for me? I'm by no means a dits, but I don't want to buy anything that I won't get my head around. Would the D5100 be easier or has that got nothing to do with it?

Here's what I'm thinking. I want the D7000 with 1 lens (don't know which one yet, will read more and more and more on that one) and then save up to buy maybe another lens a year after.

What do you think? I'm a trying for something too big? (I'll be doing a photography for beginners course over summer too)

If your main purpose is indoor photography of your students' work (btw, what do you teach? Art? Mechanics? What kind of objects made by your students will become your e-portfolios?), make sure enough of your budget is left for either a flash (to be either bounced or used off-camera) or a good tripod + remote (if you prefer using natural light, you'll need fairly long exposure).

If you don't shoot sports/wildlife, you might consider the D90. It's fairly similar to the D7000, but it has a sensor of the previous generation, a slower AF and some other things that mostly matter for action shots). And it comes at a even lower price than the D5100.