1st photo for cc

ccote321

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

This is my first post on the forum and I'm looking for some cc on a photo I shot yesterday morning during the lunar eclipse on the west coast. I've been into photography for about a year now and figured a forum would be a good idea for me to develop my skills and hopefully learn some new things. I can handle criticism so please feel free to be honest, just don't bash me... I know forums can be pretty brutal sometimes :lmao:.

Looking forward to becoming a participating member of thephotoforum!

Lunar_Eclipse.jpg

Lunar Eclipse setting over downtown Los Angeles

Love the red moon and the composition. The only thought I had (and this could be how its showing up on my screen) is it maybe possibe to do some photoshop tweaks to make the light/color have a tiny bit more punch. (if Im totally off base on that please correct me..im just learning myself)

It looks really soft on my laptop, maybe it's just me though.

Awesome capture.

That being said, it is a bit soft, and the moon lacks much of it's detail. You also have some banding in the sky, what were your settings and did you do any processing?

I think the banding and softness is from re-sizing and uploading through the forum because it doesn't show up on my original... Like i said this was the first photo I uploaded here so hopefully once I get more familiar with the size limitations I'll be able to properly re-size to retain as much detail as possible. Also, at the moment this is the camera I'm shooting with.
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35K 12.1 MP Digital Camera (Black)