24-70 vs D750 vs D500

gabehelfant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone, this is my first time posting here so please give me a lot of responses to suggest my next big photography purchase.

I will start with my current setup and Background:

I now shoot on a Nikon D7000 (we are 5 years strong together).
Lenses: Nikon 35mm 1.8 FX, Nikon 50mm 1.8FX, Sigma 70-200 2.8FX, and 18-55.
SB-700

I mostly shoot events, I am a summer camp photographer for two months of the year, I shoot portraits, and work for companies at times. So event/portrait/sports.

MY DILEMMA

I am working a crazy boring job right now for the sake of upgrading my equipment. I will list my three main options for an upgrade, only mention other options if you really think they are good ones. BTW this is probably my last purchase for a while so its not like I can get a new body or lens for more than a year.

I find that my current setup is getting a bit out of date as I want better image quality, focusing, and high ISO performance. The D7000 was and still is a good camera but I am yearning to switch things up.

SHOULD I....

stay DX and get the d500 for that insane performance but be stuck in DX land for years to come?

Go full frame and get the D750, same/slightly worse performance compared to D500, but full frame...

Or GLASS... get a 24-70- my main issue with this is that I feel like my lenses have treated me well until now and I think I would see better results from changing a body than a lens.

SORRY FOR THIS LONG RANT BUT PLEASE GIVE YOUR THOUGHTS! THANKS!

If you went full frame, your 18-55 wouldn't be useable. So you'd have no standard zoom lens.

I have the D500 and LOVE it. Of your three choices, that's what I'd pick.

I'd also add another option: Pick up a D600/610 and add a full frame compatible standard zoom lens.

If you went full frame, your 18-55 wouldn't be useable. So you'd have no standard zoom lens.