A Girl & Her Mini: Photo Shoot Questions

ASCSurveyor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So a good friend asked me if I wanted to do a photo shoot of her and her Mini Cooper. Like a moron, I said yes. :confused:

I do photography for fun. I have an XTi, two lenses, a tripod, remote switch, and use Canon's software to process. And while I've been doing it for maybe 10 years or so, I certainly don't feel I'm past the novice stage.

And that's why I'm doing this shoot... to learn. I've done a few photo shoots this year, one being for a local motorcycle shop's release party, but it was Italian motorbikes... I don't think there's a way to make a Ducati look bad. :D

But I have yet to do a shoot involving a person. I do have luck on my side, as the girl is "model material", in my opinion. Tall, slender, and Eastern European. But as I've never done a shoot with a model before, I'm not sure where to start.

I'd like suggestions on poses, angles, or what might look good. We'll be using her Mini Cooper in the shoot, and I've already went ahead a few weeks ago and scouted some locations in an old warehouse/industrial district. Simple background, IMO. The focus is her and car.

She's well aware of my "skill level", and despite me telling her I'm just doing this to learn, she insists on paying me... or at least buying me dinner (easy fellas... she's married). But even though I want to do this for free, I still want to do a good job, and not have them look quite so... "amateur", if that makes any sense. I don't plan on selling them, but I still want her to be happy with what I give her.

So, suggestions? Tips to go by? We're doing the shoot at 8am, and the weather is supposed to be 65° and partly cloudy. Should work pretty well, I think.

I don't think there's a way to make a Ducati look bad. :D

Sure there is, put it next to a Harley. :lol: