A pocket P&S

Drake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've just realised I need a p&s camera to go with me everywhere my XTi doesn't. I feel like I'm missing a lot of shots with my friends when going out. What would you recommend? The thing I am mostly looking at is image quality - sharpness and dealing with noise. It also should have pretty wide lens - preferably 28mm and optical stabilization. And it must be pocketable. The rest is not really important.

I've pretty much decided it would be the Canon Powershot SD870 IS. Is there anything about it's price I should also consider? The price might be a bit higher.

XTis are so small already, I would not really see the need for something smaller, however, if you need something that is "pocketable", Sony makes a line of cybershots that are thin, fast to start and offer reasonable quality for a P&S.

Apparently (and I am no expert), the Canon G10 is the ultimate P&S. It even has a hotshoe for the strobists out there!

Thanks for a fast reply. The G10 won't fit into my pockets. As for Sony, I love their touch-screen series, but they lack IQ (judging by samples in reviews) and their lens are not so wide. :(

As for the XTi's size - just because there are bigger DSLRs doesn't mean it's a small camera for parties.

Last edited:
I picked up my sister a little Sony Cyber-shot (cannot recall the model, small thin and 7.1mp). For me the IQ is just short of terrible (perhaps I am being overly critical), but she loves it and uses it all the time.

I know the G9 is a grat camera, but I really would like the camera to be smaller. I love the lens of Lx3, but it's a bit too pricy for me. The Sony W170 seems like a good choice, but it's a bit slow - f3.3, most compacts are f2.8

This is a great question. I'm doing the same research and will be interested to find out what you settle on for your purchase.