advice: D90, D5000 or D200

maineiac

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The perennial question...which camera to buy? This will be my first DSLR. Here's my thoughts - any advice would be appreciated.

And before people ask, I'm considering a Nikon over a Canon because I've used a Nikon for a long time at work (I'm a journalist) and like the way they feel in my hands.

A quick word about what I'll use the camera for. As I said, I'm a journalist and am starting a freelance career. I've focused on writing and radio until now, but have been very interested in photography. I also fancy myself as an alright photographer who would like to dive deeper into the art. I've been taking photos with my company's D40 and have really enjoyed it. I'll be traveling with my new camera, taking photographs for publication in magazines and the web.

Obviously, the D90 is a great camera. I like the low noise and the kit lens (18-105mm). Having the HD video would be cool, and I'd definitely use it, but that's not why I'm buying a camera. This is the camera I would buy if I wasn't worried about money (I need to buy a new Mac as well so money is tight). But at $1200 I'm a bit worried that I'm buying more camera than I need, especially considering I've been happy just shooting with my company's D40 (though I haven't made an effort to delve deeper into what the camera could really do).

I was also looking at the D5000. I don't like how I need to go into the menus to change ISO, etc., but it is about $400 cheaper than the D90. It has an inferior lens, but it does have the video. Other downsides to this camera vs. the D90?