Advice needed please

Gonzo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good afternoon everyone, newbie here looking to expand my limited knowledge and hoping for a bit of sage wisdom.

Allow me to give you a bit of background before detailing the advice if I may please?

I purchased a camera about a year ago for video purposes and found myself using it to take to take a few still photos in auto mode and since then have caught the bug. I'm a complete novice and starting to venture into the abyss of manual mode, shutter speeds and aperture without fully understanding any of it.

I've watched quite a few YouTube tutorials which have been very helpful and last night I took my GH4 into the garden to try and take some night shots. I followed some online advice regarding settings which I'm sure were fine but I wasn't particularly happy with the results.

I understand that Micro four thirds have a small sensor and that my lens' don't have a low aperture so I'm wondering . . . . .. .

I have £1000 which I was going to spend on a GH5 (again for video use mostly and I do love the ease of M43rds cameras) but am I better spending the money on a second hand full frame DSLR and start on that journey.

I've already started tailoring my journeys and breaks to accommodate photographing wildlife and landscapes so I feel at a bit of a crossroads.

I've looked at the DSLR's but it's daunting to say the least and have no idea where to start.

Thanks for your indulgence and here is a picture of the kit I currently have.

Camera gear.jpg

Hi Gonzo and welcome to the froum.
Without a doubt, the GH series big strength is video. And from what I heard the GH5 is going to be no exception for that. To be honest: if I were you, I´d ask myself what the pros of the new body would be for video and if it would be worth the upgrade.
If they are minimal, I´d consider a full frame, if not, and your primary use is video, I´d go with the GH5.