Advise on Photography Black Computers

MikeT1964

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All

This is my first post - a little about myself. I run my own small graphic design and print business. As part of this I offer clients a photography service, which is in the main is photographing their products etc.

One of my main clients manufactures UPS machines which are basically black computer style boxes full of batteries etc. My service to them involves photographing the product, designing then printing marketing literature.

I am fairly new to digital photography and I would like advise on how to improve my technique on photographing these black computer cases, I want the tops and sides to photograph as black and not highlighted as per my sample shot attached. What I do at the moment is to use my photoshop skills to compensate for my photography skills in creating masks to fill in the tops and sides to make them darker to match the fronts etc.
So I am after advise on how to improve they way I do this.

Camera used is a Nikon D90 on aperture priority at F16, products in a diffuser tent with static lighting, which I have experimented with position etc.

Thanks
Mike

Hi Mike, you don´t have a sample shot attached...

Welcome to the forum.

If you want something (or a side of something) to photograph as black, then you need to make sure that it's getting significantly less light than the part that you actually want to see. For example, if the main part of your object is metering at F8, your other sides will probably turn out black if they are metering at F4 (two stops) or less.