Any wedding or professional photographers use the Rebel T2i or T3i?

TCUphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am thinking about getting the Canon Rebel T2i (I don't see a huge difference in the T3i based on internet specs I've seen), but I was wondering if that will be good enough for running a professional business on? I already have some business planned for next year, including a wedding, and would like something better than my old Pentax K100D I rely on now. Plus, I would like to have a second camera just in case...

Or should I cough up the extra cash and go for something better? I am a full time med student so I need the best bang for my buck.

Thanks!

Here is an (in)famous wedding photographer who was using a Rebel, and an 18-55 kit zoom and a pokey 70-300...this is kind of the way I think many customers feel about people shooting "professionally" with entry-level equipment. The entire Rebel T2i,T3,T3i model cluster-up is an incredible mess...I cannot figure out what Canon is trying to do, except a Sony-style flooding of each and every single price point with "something" that they "hope" will get a sale for the brand at the expense of a competing brand; otherwise they would do what has traditionally been done by Nikon, which is to try and build the best possible camera for each "slot", and then achieve high unit sales of fewer models with much more clearly-defined boundaries between the models. Like say Nikon D90, then Nikon D300s...not T2i,T3,T3i,and 60D all totally clustered-up and confusing what Canon refers to as end-users.

Honestly, I have no idea why you'd switch from Pentax to Canon when the Canon would be a Rebel...