B&W photos

412 Burgh

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.zacharydiberadin.me
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a rookie, in fact I'm a newbie :p I just got my camera and it's my first DSLR.. Nikon D3100 good price and I also got the Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm Lens with VR.. So I was wondering since I'm only in high school still and don't have a studio or anything like that, how hard is it to make my own little back drops? I was just thinking plan white sheet hanging down with some lighting on it.. I have this photo for an example as what I'm looking to achieve or somewhat closely to it

5446771800_215e139544.jpg

sheets, cheap material , what ever, just be sure you iron it .

you could also go to home depot and get a painter's drop cloth, and dye it, make you own colors, whatever,

seamless paper isn't very expensive, just hard on storage . I have seen professional tape the stuff up to a wall if they didn't have the stands, or make your self a set of stands, a couple of poles in a bucket of quick set concret or sand. a few clamps to add an upper rod .

Photography is all about problem solving.

A white wall can be lighted brighter than the subject, and can easily make a plain, pure white background like the one you show in your example/sample photo. Even a gray wall can be lighted very brightly, and made to render as "white" in a photo--if enough differential in light hits the wall, as compared to how much hits the subject. A good tutorial can be found by searching for Zack Arias + white background tutorial.

My dad has construction lights from like Lowes that he uses for around the house work if it's dark. They just plug into a normal 3 socket outlet, will these lights work?

My dad has construction lights from like Lowes that he uses for around the house work if it's dark. They just plug into a normal 3 socket outlet, will these lights work?

Short answer, no.
Long answer, no.