Backstage Fashion Show Shooting

Austin Greene

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
www.austingreenephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
UPDATE: I'm going to keep a running depository of all the photos here in the main post. For those scrolling through the replies, I will also provide more background info on each image as I post it in the replies.

Hey again,

So I had the chance to volunteer and shoot a charity fashion show. I was given a 10ft by 10ft space, and a very short white-ish sheet (roughly 6ft tall) for a backdrop that most of the models were taller than. Chose to use a ladder to help angle it out.

All in all, I had about 2 minutes with most models, so it was a challenge to get them comfortable and snap off a shot. Background separation was an issue because of space.

Anyways, this is my first time doing any sort of high-key portrait shooting. Hell, its my first time doing any studio style shooting, I usually work outdoors as you all know. Its going to take me awhile to post the images between classes this week, but I'd really appreciate some critique as its a new area of portraiture for me.

Oh and before I forget, the theme was "Roots." Some of the clothes came from local thriftstores.

Athena - SFA 2013 by TogaLive, on Flickr

Anastasia - SFA 2013 by TogaLive, on Flickr

My CC: I like the colors, and the lighting overall. Its soft, and matches her skin textures. I don't see any majorly out of place hairs. I'm a bit iffy about the mostly centered composition, but I think that her hair being to one side helps even it out. The top could be a bit darker, all the glittery bits are a tad distracting.

3. More of a fun/messaround/artsy pic. Difficult to make it worth anything in the amount of time I had. Don't really know what to make of it.

SFA 2013 by TogaLive, on Flickr

4. Almost too generic of a portrait. I'm not a huge fan of this one. More DOF would have helped.