Beginner and camera worries.

xxarmando

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone, I am a beginner to photography and recently purchased the Nikon D7100 with 18-140 mm f/3.5. As I am still learning the basics I have been looking around and seeing how some of you notice problems with your cameras or lenses. My problem is I don't know how to spot those, so far that's my only worry that "what if I notice it too late". Purchasing my first Dslr is a huge step for me financially. If anyone can inform me what you guys look for when you buy a camera ,defects wise that you search for like second hand nature. I hope I don't sound too perturbed, but since I am new I don't want to notice too late.

If you're buying it new, then there is very unlikely to be a defect, and if there is, simply return it to the purchaser or Nikon USA for repair under warranty. If you're buying second-hand, then read the manual ahead of time and learn the functions, and test it before you hand over any money. External condition is a very good ('though not infalliable) indicator. If the exterior is clean, damage free, and well cared for, chances are the camera is in decent shape.

Are you having any issues?
Normally the D7100 is a high quality camera and the kit lens is pretty good too.

I bought it new from Amazon, I also wanted to make sure since I am fresh into photography and still learning. Also I had to call Nikon to activate my 1 year warranty on the body and 5 year on lens, because the site has been down when you log in for a couple of days for me. Anyone experiencing the same problem with the Nikonusa site after log in?

Purchasing a camera new has very few drawbacks, besides buyer remorse. When I bought my first dslr less than a year ago, i haven't since worried about a problem with the camera. I bought a lens from a pawn shop, but for about $30. I considered it an upgrade from my kit lens, so it was a gamble I risked taking (and have so far won).