Beginner photographer

Michael Cardenas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all. I am interested in picking up photography, mainly as a hobby and maybe more further down the line. I have no official experience in the industry and have never taken any classes or anything like that, basically I have little to no knowledge of photography. For those of you that can help what are some things I should focus on learning about to begin developing skills as a photographer. I have a Nikon D3400 if that helps... Thanks for reading my post and thanks for the advice, have a good day:).

What do you enjoy photographing? Are you a landscape person? A nature person? Macro? Portraits? Learning photography has never been easier; between YouTube, and the host of other on-line resources, EVERYTHING you could ever want to know is available at your finger tips.

1. Decide what you want to shoot.
2. Look at your images (post them here for comments and critique ("C&C")), determine where, if anywhere, you want to improve, and search out those topics, and/or ask the questions here.

The first thing I would suggest is becoming intimately familiar with the relationship between your camera ISO setting, shutter speed, and aperture setting, with respect to exposure. You need to get a handle on that first.

And take lots of pictures, the beauty of digital photography is your mistakes are free. I would also suggest NOT using the auto mode for your camera and force yourself to explore the controls and what effects they have on how your pictures come out.