Beginner to photography, could I have some opinions?

natalia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, nice to meet you all.
I've always been interested in Photography and I'm planning on buying a digital camera to work more on my interest.
I am a college student and I'm also on a budget (max $1000). I've taken a photography class but I'm in no way a pro, obviously. My interest is in nude photography, but also portrait, landscape, fashion, a little bit of everything.

I've looked through several websites and I've found a digital camera that I think would really work for me but I'm not familiar with other brands, so I'm not sure what to do.
This is one that really interested me:
[ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000I1ZWRC/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header#moreAboutThisProduct[/ame]

Would this camera be good for me? I know that it really depends on the person and what I want, but nude/portrait photography is my passion and I don't want to waste my money on something that is just only good for someone who considers photography just a hobby and past time. I am wanting to really dive into photography, and I dont want to buy a camera that I wont need at all in a couple of years. I know that with how fast technology moves there might be more upgrades in the next couple of years, but I want this one to last a while.

Thanks so much in advance and I'm happy to be here, have a nice day.

--Natalia

This is really hard to answer. You never know how fast an individual will grow out of his/her camera.

The camera you suggested certainly allows for more creative freedom than a point&shoot camera. And with good lenses it will be a good camera.

It is an entry level SLR camera, true, but with your budget not a bad choice.

You could of course consider a used camera, which would leave more money to invest in lenses.