best compact camera with manual functions

manomaceta

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm planning to backpack europe, and I will need to buy a camera for the trip.

I'm looking for a compact camera (I don't want to carry a bag for the camera)
With manual settings (I'm an advanced amateur)
Optical or ccd image stabilization (I'm not going to carry a tripod)
800x600 & 30fps for video recording
I don't care about megapixels, I do care about image quality (6 mp is more than enough for me)
Under US$ 400

Do you have any suggestion?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

hm...closest I can think of is the "advanced P&S/SLR-like cameras"

I've got the advanced P&S sort of camera, and if you're not carrying a bag I would suggest to avoid one like this. It has a lot of flexibility but can really take a beating on a backpacking trip, and the upper end of the zoom is pretty much useless without a tripod.

I would suggest taking a look at the Canon Powershot line. I'm not sure what they've got out right now, but I had an A610 and it was great- manual settings (including focus), video, decent zoom (4x...not sure the 35mm equivalent). Best of all, it was tough. That thing took a lot of abuse before I upgraded, and it never complained a bit :)

You can get an Minolta A2 used for about $175 that has manual everything. Manual Zoom, Manual focus, manual exposure modes, an awesome Anti-shake mechanism (better than most or ALL DSLRs!!), fantastic button ergonomics and functionality, shoots 12bit RAW, has wireless flash and wireless image forwarding, has a 28~200mm lens with macro at either end (165~200 macro and 28mm macro), has a hot shoe and tripod mounts, has a PC accessory socket, very nice tracking AF/AE for a P&S, a "great in it's day/good for today" HQ LCD that flips up and out, and a 90 degree swiveling EVF. It's also FULLY controllable (except for zoom) from a laptop if you ever need tethered remote in a lab or something.