Bird Photographs

Pluxar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was just wondering what the you guys thought of my bird photographs. I recently got my first DSLR (The Canon Rebel T3i in january) and want to know how to improve my photography. All the pictures were taken with a canon 75-300mm lens at 300mm. I have not edited nor cropped any of the images because I am still learning how to properly work photoshop, if anyone has tips/tricks with editing or can tell me the best way to edit to get the best results it would be greatly appreciated! Also if anyone has any advice for taking better/sharper photos I would like to hear it very much!

$Black-Capped Chickadee.jpg$Bush Tit.jpg$English Sparrow.jpg$Female English Sparrow.jpg$Housefinch.jpg$IMG_0685.jpg

For some reason uploading them took out some color and darkened them don't know why...

Last edited:
Best advice I was given for the 75-300 was shoot at less than 300mm, slightly, shoot at f7.1 or something as opposed to f5.6 (wide open at 300mm).
This gives sharper images as no lens generally works best at full stretch and wide open. It also stops the purple fringing somewhat when shooting against the light sky.

Worked for me. :)

Thanks for the advice! The next sunny/bright day I have I'll go out and test your suggestions out, doesn't look like it will be soon thug the forecast is rain for the next week. Again thank you for the tip, anyone else have other pieces of advice or criticism?

$IMG_3277.jpg$IMG_3268.jpg$IMG_3267.jpg$IMG_1526.jpg

Here are a few more I took today at 200 mm, I think it really improved the quality, and I tried editing the robin picture. How do they look?

Some seem kinda underexposed to me...
The robin picture really stand out among them though. Really good colour of the bird and the background matches nicely :) (And it looks exposed properly lol... maybe its my monitor...)

Process the photos.
Shoot in better light.
Get closer.
Look for cleaner backgrounds.