Brand New Camera and Photographer

njworley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am brand new to photography, until last week I have only ever owned a simple point and shoot camera. Long story short, I won a Nikon D3100 with 18-55mm lens and 55-200mm lens through the VFW/VA. I am learning what I can from the videos it came with and youtube but any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Here are a few of the "better" pictures I have taken with the camera.

thanks for any help.

DSC_0615edit.jpg

DSC_0186edit.jpg

DSC_0048edit.jpg

DSC_0822edit.jpg

Last edited:
I would love to give whatever newbie help I can but I can't see the pictures... :(

Amazing that you won such a great item! I never win cool stuff like that!

Be sure and read the D3100 user's manual. It's not a hard copy. The complete user's manual is on the disc of software that came with the camera.
Suppliment that with - David Busch's Nikon D3100 Guide to Digital SLR Photography

Visit Digital Photography Tutorials for some of the best tutorials on the web.

You'll also benefit if you begin a study of visual image composition - Guidelines for Better Photographic Composition: Introduction
Advanced Composition -- Part I

The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos

For the basics of photographic lighting get - Light Science and Magic, Fourth Edition: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting

An appreciation of art and understanding the bacis of graphic design are also very helpful.
Living with Art

Visual Design Fundamentals: A Digital Approach (Graphics Series)

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Alright, I fixed the picture issue. Sorry about that

KmH, thanks for the pointers ill start reading now.