Brand "snobbery" ?

gtaylor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I bought into Canon several years ago, mainly because I had come to the conclusion that it offered the widest choices for lenses.

I haven't regretted my decision, but it seems (based on a couple of other forums that I frequent) that the general consensus now is that Nikon is the way to go . Evidently the "experts" on those forums have an opinion that Canon has dropped the ball lately with it's "marginal" upgrades in any given model line.

Not being an expert, I have no opinion one over the other as far as bodies go. I think that they are both excellent systems, and for someone who will most likely never use a dslr for all it's many options, for me it seems like if a person purchases any dslr in today's market, with the proper lens incredible results are possible.

Not to mention the others in the mix; Sony , Pentax, Olympus,et al. I am reminded that when I got my first Sony FD (floppy disk) camera in 2000, it was well over $800.00 at 1.3 MP!!!!!!!

Today's cameras are so much alike in so many ways, but I keep coming out of these forums with the feeling that the Nikon has become the king of the hill.

The other reason I went with Canon all those years ago is that I was given to believe that their AF is best for capturing action (sports, dance and the like) I shoot lots of photos at football games and recitals And that Nikon has best overall color rendering.
Canon has not let me down.
I'd like to hear from someone on why he/she chose the camera system that makes them smile!!!!

At any rate, I spend way too much time here on this forum and need to get out and shoot some memories. Which I shall do , once it warms up enough so that I'm not worried about condensation on camera/lens.

Happy shooting and thanks for "listening" to my little "rant".