Buying a New Camera

darin3200

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
friedrichsphotography.com
Hi,
I'm a high school student who does semi-professional photography. I currently have a Praktica ML-3, it only has manual focus, manual exposure, manual film advance etc.. The camera is older but still takes good pictures, however I want to purchase a more full featured camera.

I was planning on getting a 35mm film camera because the cameras are cheaper than digital and tend to produce higher quality pictures (and I just purchased a darkroom enlarger)

Currently, I am looking at Canon EOS cameras that are under $1000. I wanted a Canon 1V but I doubt I would need all the features that camera has. The EOS-3 looks good to me but I'm still not sure if its the right camera for me.

Does anyone have advice on what camera to buy?

I have a EOS3000N (the film rebel)... It does a perfect job for me.. I paid $300AU. So if you are talking US - that would be a fair bit cheaper. And you could spend the rest on lenses...

Or, you could probably pick up a 300D - Digital Rebel for $1000US

fadingaway1986 said:
Or, you could probably pick up a 300D - Digital Rebel for $1000US

I just wanted to suggest it. there are a few dslrs that cost less than $1000 but I dunno if you are interested in digitals at all :)

I think if your pretty serious about photography, you can't go wrong with the EOS line.
I would get the EOS Elan 7 and spend the rest on lenses. Or Nikon N80 and lenses.

The other option is look at used. Could get even more for your money.

And don't let these guys bully you into digital, we silver geeks need to stick together. :D

Thanks for all of the advice so far.
I been looking at a lot of cameras and I really like the Canon EOS Elan 7. If I can get that camera for around $300 I could buy 1 or 2 good lenses. I was also thinking of saving a lot of money over the summer and buying a Digital Rebel (maybe XT/350D) later on and that way I could use the same lenses.