Buying my first SLR (D7000). Recommendation for lenses. Budget ~$2000

jey1234

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am photography enthusiast but have never owned a SLR. I am planning on buying my first DSLR with a total budget of around $2000 (w/o taxes). After extensive reading, I am thinking D7000 is probably the best for my budget. I have no preference between Canon or Nikon but it seems like the similarly priced 60D doesn't perform as well. I'll be using it mostly for family photos and landscapes (I love to travel :) ). I am not so sure of what lenses I must buy. I don't really want to overlook the quality of the lenses. If this means buying a lower priced body like the D90, I will consider it.

I thought some thing like the Nikkor AF-S 16-85 mm f3.5-5.6G and the Nikkor AF-S DX 35 mm f1.8G will be a good pair to start with. However, I am a complete beginner to SLR's so any advice will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

to be honest, I love my d7000. But i would invest more in nice glass than the body. it's all relative to what you are shooting.

I suggest buy the body only. Then get the 35mm f1.8G. Thats all you really need to get started then buy quality glass from there. Like a good 70-200mm f2.8 then ultra wide angle lens. Like the tokina 11-16mm f2.8. But it also depends on what you are shooting...I like the 70-200mm for portraits and the 35mm for street and ultra wide angle cause its awesome.

Go for it man, You won't be disappointed - I got the D7000 with the crappy Kit lens which is still the only lens i have right now (though getting a prime next week) and it hasn't stopped me from taking nice(imo) photos :)

i primarily use the 35mm f1.8. amazing lens for the price