C&C Please and suggestions on how to improve post editing

CaptainNapalm

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It was one of those really freezing, dark, cloudy, ugly days here but I decided to hit the lake front and see if I can take some pictures this morning. Because it's winter here and everything is colourless and very dark all my shots came out boring. So instead of throwing away the pics my goal was to try to do some constructive post editing. Basically I cropped the photos a bit, tried to bring out at least some colour in the scene/subjects, tried to give the clouds in the sky some character by adjusting shadows/highlights, did some sharpening, adjusted exposure, and tried to adjust the white balance as best as I could. I basically tried to make the pictures more interesting to look at. I'm very new to post editing and I'm looking on some feedback for these two shots in terms of how they could have been composed better or improvement in post processing. Thanks in advance!
$Harbourfront 13-03-01 (4)_edited-1.jpg$Harbourfront 13-03-01 (7)_edited-1.jpg

Shooting down on an animal like that just never works for me. I know sometimes it's all you can do, I have the same problem at a couple of the lakes around here. In general when you shoot down on something it puts them in a subservient or subordinate position. When you shoot up at something it elevates them to a superior position, such as a king on a dais. You got an excellent exposure and the color saturation is exactly what I'd expect from those conditions, I just don't care for the composition.

The first one is better. As small as the ducks in the water are the eye is drawn right to them by the lines of the dock edges.