C&C Please...Post Processed three times so far!

Skinnifatkid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Yes, I'm an FNG or NOOB! I've been lurking for a bit, trying to learn and not get flamed to hard for things I feel are post worthy.

Here are a few from Xmas day, taken in my Ghetto studio in the basement...Please let me know what I can do to make them better!

6580349159_129db2c7da.jpg
[/URL] Runco's Cropped -020 by Skinnifatkid, on Flickr[/IMG]
6580338659_4407caa11c.jpg
[/URL] Runco's Cropped -007 by Skinnifatkid, on Flickr[/IMG]
6580284657_e62bdbf3ab.jpg
[/URL] Xmas-024-2 by Skinnifatkid, on Flickr[/IMG]

Any C&C on these would be appreciated. Pic info; 1/400 At f8, auto ISO 3200, Auto WB, Focal length 36mm. I was using a new gift flash and trying to get the lighting right.

Last edited:
The first thing that hits me is that your subjects are too close to your background. Skin tone looks a bit off and washed out. Also, focus is soft.

The backdrop looks odd to me. Almost like someone took a giant nearly dried out sharpie to it. Or like it got sorted wrong in the laundry. Is it just me?

The first thing that hits me is that your subjects are too close to your background. Skin tone looks a bit off and washed out. Also, focus is soft.

I only had so much room in my basement to work with and it was family day at our house. I tried to get the skin tones right in post, but couldn't tweak it enough to where I liked it. I made sure the limbs weren't cut off, the shadows were minimal and there wasn't too much wash from the flashes. I used a 430EX and a new light I got for Xmas with stand/umbrella.

I could have moved the stands and flashes further back away from them, but felt pressed to get it done. I kept looking at the LCD to check if the lights were washing them out. The first few I did were hard washed and had to really get things going to get it close to being okay...to me.