C&C Welcome on Roxy Dog Portrait

waday

Do one thing every day that scares you
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I had some free time tonight, so I decided to take a 'portrait' of my dog, Roxy. I don't know what it is about it, but it seems 'boring' to me.

While I've had my DSLR for a long time, and I've been taking okay pictures, I want to actively get better at this hobby.

I'm fairly new to adding light to photos, so please give me any feedback you can. This definitely has some PP--the original needed to be fixed. :confused:

$Roxy-LRChair.jpg

Looks well exposed and sharp enough. Maybe it seems boring because the dog isn't doing anything interesting or dog-like. Lighting and processing won't change that, unless you shopped it within an inch of it's life into some crazy, dramatic scene.

I think its the chair. It blends well with the lighter color of the dogs fur. Find a background with more contrast, maybe.

Or maybe like Pejacre said; give a dog a bone & let him do doggie stuff

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4. probably at work.

Thanks for the feedback! Good points. I never thought about the chair color matching her fur and blending in.

She was pretty tired, but she did get a few treats after it. I'll see if I can grab a few shots on our walk in the morning.

Another shot with her ready to catch the treat…

$Roxy-LRChair_Treat.jpg

Technically all the pieces are here. It lacks dynamism or intrigue--the colors aren't very vivid, the lighting isn't dramatic, etc.

http://www.123inspiration.com/wp-co...Furry-Dog-Portraits-by-Daniel-Sadlowski-9.jpg

Something like that is what I mean--much more dynamic and compelling.

Jake

Thanks for the link. I'll have to take some pointers from his photos.

Looks like he used a softbox or striplight camera left, rim light camera right, and then a spotlight on the background. Not that you need all those lights, just something more... punchy.

Jake