Canon PowerShot A720 IS 8.0 MP for product photos?

jay2k6ie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I am brand new to photography but I need to start because I am starting a new online store and I would like to take nice quality product photos. My products will be phone cases for the most part and taken on a white background. I have purchased 3 photography bulbs with lamps (5500k 42W) and I also have a pop up white photography tent. I have researched basic setups for product photography so I have a small idea but my problem is what camera to use?

I have an iPhone 4 and I have tried taking product photos with it but for obvious reasons they are not all that good so I am looking into purchasing a digicam. I have found a really good deal on a second hand: Canon Powershot A720 IS 8.0MP but I have no idea whether this will be suitable? Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Edit: I have a very small budget so buying an SLR or something similar is totally out of my range..

Check the resolution of your screen.

If you really have the best of the best, then its 2560x1600 (about 4 Megapixel).

Thats the maximum photo size you possibly would ever need for pictures in an online shop.

P.s.: Right now, anyway. Lets hope we get 40 Megapixel screens next year. :mrgreen:

Thanks Solarflare! Do you think that model of camera is decent for what I am looking for? (Nice clear photos on a white background with good lighting?)

"nice quality" shots is a rather subjective term. I would guess that the set-up you have, with that camera will afford you acceptable images for web use, but they're not going to be great. However, if that's all you can afford, then make it work.

Check the resolution of your screen.

If you really have the best of the best, then its 2560x1600 (about 4 Megapixel).

Thats the maximum photo size you possibly would ever need for pictures in an online shop.

P.s.: Right now, anyway. Lets hope we get 40 Megapixel screens next year. :mrgreen: