Canon XTi vs. 40d

Michael Touchette

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I currently have a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi dSLR (that's a mouth full). I have the 18-55mm kit lens and have recently been thinking about upgrading to the new Canon 18-200mm IS lens and selling the kit lens. So, I was doing some research on the lens and stumbled across some pretty good deals on the Canon 40d with the 28-135mm IS lens. Now I'm torn on if I should just sell the entire XTi and pick up a 40d. (After selling the XTi, I think I could get the 40d for not much more than the cost of the 18-200mm lens would have been). Are the benefits of the 40d over the XTi worth it? How is the 28-135mm as a walk around/travel lens. I am still a photography beginner, but have recently gotten into much more, would the 40d be over kill for me? Thanks for any input, and if you have any idea for a different direction that might be better for me, let me know!

When thinking of upgrading think of two things:

1. Do you really need the 40D over the XTi?

2. Remember Lens over Body.

Hope that helps a bit

^^im with him. the 28-135mm is nice, ive shot it on my friends xt at a drift event and it was nice

I think that the 28-135 is a little too long to make for a good walk-around lens unless you don't shoot landscapes, buildings, close-quarters or group shots (I would probably be okay with 28mm being my widest focal length if I shot everything from far away). Does Canon have a lens that starts at 24mm other than the L lenses (24-70 and 24-105)? I can't speak to the quality of the different Canon lenses (let alone the bodies) but, if they're anything like Nikon lenses, I think it would be better (at least IQ wise) to have one standard zoom lens like the 18-55 (if not upgrade to an f/2.8 version) and then have a telephoto zoom lens like the 55-250 IS.