Change Canon EOS 700D sound to manual

Discussion in 'Canon Cameras' started by samsam123, Jan 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. samsam123

    samsam123 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently I got a Canon EOS 700D and also a Rode VideoMic go, and the microphone creates a hissing sound when I record with it, I've been looking around and people say that to eliminate the noise you need to go to the sound recording option and change it to manual, but the 700D at the sound recording option only got "On" and "Off" to select, is there any way to change the sound option to manual on the 700D? If there isn't, is there any other way to reduce the hissing sound on the 700D?


     
  2. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Page 198 of the manual.

    Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 9.55.12 AM.png
     
  3. samsam123

    samsam123 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the problem, where it says "auto" or "manual" on other cameras on mine says "on" and "off" there aren't other options where to choose from, I don't know if I'm looking at the wrong place but so far I can't find any option that does what I want on my camera.
     
  4. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't have our T5I with me right now as Jr has it.
    I'll keep looking to see if I can find a tutorial.
     
  5. samsam123

    samsam123 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, here are the images of what appears on my camera screen for the sound recording options.

    15909682_10210477860718649_1048950604_n.jpg 15910173_10210477861118659_478286474_n.jpg
     
  6. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This is the same basic menu function as the T5I/700d and as close as I can find for a tutorial.

     
  7. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Interesting.
    Give me a second to search this.
     
  8. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    What mode is the dial on e.g.. AV, TV, M, A?
     
  9. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This should solve your problem.

    Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 10.23.12 AM.png
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  10. samsam123

    samsam123 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works now, thank you very much, I put it on P and the option is now displayed, just one last question, where should I place the Rec level? I've got many suggestions but I don't know which one might be the best to just record a person talking indoors (I got the videomic go so there aren't any options in the microphone that I can change)
     
  11. zombiesniper

    zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8,223
    Likes Received:
    5,964
    Location:
    Angus, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would test myself where to set the record level.

    Find a quiet room place the camera and mic at the expected record distance and record a short pre scripted set of lines at each record level. Then in post you can see which one worked best ei. best sound with minimal hiss or background noise.
     
  12. samsam123

    samsam123 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0


    Thank you very much! It all works perfect now :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
700d mic options
,
canon 700d external mic settings
,
canon 700d sound settings
,
canon d700 sound
,

canon eos 700d audio settings

,
eos 700d sound settings
,

how to enable microphone sound recording in a canon camera

,
recording audio with canon eos 700d