charging rates and signed usage agreements?

Kamakazi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone,
I have been a hobby photographer for a few years now and have very recently decided to whole-heartedly dive into creating a "business." I have a few clients already lined up, however, I am a little iffy on a few (rather important) things.

There are very few photographers in my area (very small town ND) and I honestly am unsure of what to charge for a shoot and final images. I am doing 3(ish) hour shoots and providing 30-40 final images on a personal flash drive.

I also feel as though having clients sign a "usage agreement" would be a smart choice. This simply would state that the client has rights to use the images giving that they will not alter the images in any way.

So my question for you all is, what is your practice and would you be willing to share some examples of your usage agreements and rates (either on the thread or in a private message, I understand that some people may feel private about that sort of information).

Thank you in advance!

First and foremost, I rarely sell digital files to retail clients and when I do, they pay through the nose for them. In order to determine your rates, you need to figure out your costs; this includes hard costs such as insurance, fuel, 'phone bill, etc and soft costs such as projected equipment replacement, and similar things which will cost you money, but don't have a fixed, definable cost immediately associated with them. Add to this the amount of money you want to put in your pocket and divide by the number of shoots you intend to do in a year... presto you have the amount of money you need to charge per shoot.

FWIW, for three hours on-site, and 30-40 images on a flash drive, I would probably bill out at about $2600.00.