Complete newbie to photography advice please!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by sean ybarra, Oct 7, 2018.

1. sean ybarra

sean ybarra TPF Noob!

I'm completely new to photography I always wanted to get in to it and learn and participate as a hobby/and develop a new skill but I'm at a loss on how to go about learning I usually read a lot and participate in forums like I am now. So I was wondering if any of you can recommend a good overall encompassing book to learn photography or several books for learning how to compose pictures for beginners, photo theory, or just photography for beginners. I recently bought a sony A6000 so that's the camera I'll be learning with the lens I'm using is the stock lens thats 15-50mm i believe. Any advice or stories about how you learned would be great too thank you :D

2. 480sparky

480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Reading is fine, but nothing beats going out and shooting.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. sean ybarra

sean ybarra TPF Noob!

I understand that through practice one gets better but if I start taking pictures of everything with zero knowledge would that be a better method of learning rather than learning through some text first than applying that slowly over time?

4. 480sparky

480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
  5. Gary A.

Gary A. Been spending a lot of time on here!

You might want to look into a community college or adult school beginning photo class(s). The classes are affordable and offer a formal structure. Just make sure the class is for digital and not film.

6. TCampbell

TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Understanding Exposure (by Bryan Peterson) is popular. That'll get you the basics of camera operation (you'll actually understand quite a bit more about how to use the camera.