critique me please... pretty please

ArmyofJuan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just wanna get some critique from the photo forum community. I'm not a professional and photography is a bobbie and just wanna see if i can get some pointers to improve my skills. These images are not edited and all were taken handheld with a Canon T4I with a 40mm F2.8 pancake lens. pretty much all were at an event what Improve NYC does around the city at times. first 2 were taken at the MP# experiment in July. The last one is a Yoga session in Time square. Any pointers are welcome and critique is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
$IMG_1007.jpg1/2500 F3.2 iso -100
$IMG_0967.jpg 1/2500 F2.8 ISO-100
$IMG_0774.jpg1/320 F2.8 ISO-100

The first one is GREAT. I wish it were framed a little lower, but you've got a nice strong subject and the situation is quirky and the bubbles tie everyone together. Just GREAT.

The rest are meh. Subject isn't clear. My eyes wander all over the frame. I'm not sure what to look at. The second one has lots of dead pointless building in it.

Always ask yourself what you're taking a picture of. If you can't identify a single thing your eyes are drawn to, you're missing something. Ask yourself what, if anything, the picture says about the situation. Ask yourself where lines in the image lead your eyes and what that means to the viewer. Ask yourself if everything in the frame is contributing something to the image, or if it distracts from it.

But again... firs shot...awesome.

The first one is really good. I like the guy blowing bubbles. I think cropping out from left of him leaving him in front of the dark background behind him would be beneficial. Good DOF there with the blurred background.

The second I dont know what I would do there, maybe a different angle where the raised wall isnt angular and less people in front.