D3100 or P7100 for poor hobbiest??

jason32835

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm getting ready to upgrade from a crappy Canon point and click, I'd like to get back into photography as a hobby. I used to be a hobby photographer back in highschool.. like 20 years ago. I only have $500 to get started, this will have to last me at least a year.

Anyway, my first impulse is to get a D3100 and be happy with the kit lense 18-55. My buddy has a DSLR and knows way more about photography then I do tells me that I am too poor for DSLR and would be much happier with a P7100. The P7100 looks like a nice camera, but I was really hoping to geek out on the DSLR a bit and get some really nice artsy shots of the family.

So which would you suggest for me? I'll be taking pics of the family on vacations mostly, nice sunset walks on the beach, standing infront of historic buildings, kids running around playgrounds and the like.

I do not mind the added bulk of the DSLR, I carry a big bag everywhere anyway.

I might be able to get another lense in the future, but would the P7100 be a way better solution for taking quality shots on my budget?? Any major drawbacks to the D3100 with the kit lense? Any other options for $500 I'm not thinking about?

Help! :)

Jason

well, unless you know of some awesome deals I've never seen, a D3100 + kit lens + some near mandatory accessories (ie memory cards, extra battery, lens pen, blow cleaner, bag, etc) will be well over $500.

About the cheapest I see the D3100 + kit lens is $550.

Get the DSLR. Your friend is doing a major disservice to you by telling you otherwise. The D3100 with kit lens will easily outperform the P7100 if you learn how to use it. Now be forewarned that it is an addiction and you will soon be lusting after better glass and fancier bodies. I had a D40 for a couple years and that was my gateway to the addiction. Best of luck!