D5200 broken -> upgrade

katthebomb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I recently broke my D5200 (4 years old) and I thought that it was a good chance to make an upgrade. I have budget of around 500-700 euros. I am not a professional, but I am about to put a lot more focus and effort in going that way. I shoot wildlife, landscapes and pet photography as well.
I have some pretty good lenses already.
I have the possibility to buy:

D7100 + Nikon 16-85 mm 3.5-5.6 G AF-S DX ED VR (9600 clicks) for 700 euros (with battery grip, uv filter, batteries)

D700 for around 550 with 15000 clicks and only body

Are your lenses fx or dx, not much point in going for the d700 if all your lenses are dx due limitations.

The d7100 is nice, you lose the articulated screen, but everything else usage wise is better, probably same image quality as d5200

I had the d7100 and upgraded to the d7200 which is not something I'd normally do, especially as on paper the d7200 is such a minor upgrade over the d7100.

The d7200 is the best camera I have used, if you can get one in budget you can't go far wrong (in my opinion)

I just upgraded from the Nikon D 5300 to the Nikon D 7200. I am very very happy with the Nikon D 7200.
Roger

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have Sigma lenses and one DX. I will consider the D7200 - the price range seems to fit in the budget. Thank you for your input so far!

I have Sigma lenses and one DX. I will consider the D7200 - the price range seems to fit in the budget. Thank you for your input so far!
The d7200 is dx but is really very good. I wouldn't go with a fullframe with your budget unless I had a good set of fx lenses. I think if you needed fullframe you'd know it, meaning you'd be upgrading from your d5200 because it wasn't good enough rather than it broke.

As a matter of interest, what sigma lenses do you use?

Sigma lenses for APS-C size image sensors have the DC designation.
So DC is the same as Nikon's DX.