D60 vs. Rebel XS

wmc1117

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography and looking into getting a DSLR, I was curious what everyone's opinion is for a good starter camera. Also, I was wondering if people could offer up their opinion on the D60 versus the Canon Rebel XS. Thanks for your input.

well never used a d60 but ive used a d40 and ive heard the d60 is just a d40 only 10 mp. and i barely used a xs but used a xti. and IMO the xs wuld be better with same mp, but with sensor cleaning, able to use all canon lenses, canons awsom image quality IMO.

the d60 is more user friendly. i saw the XTI is better then xs cuz the eye sensor, and can get for cheaper, basically same camera. d60 is like d40 so if u gonna get d60 i say get d40. only difference in mp which is usless. only usefull if printing large prints

I have the Canon XS, and I must say, its an awesome camera. Very user friendly, IMO. The only thing I like more about Nikons is the sound they make when the shutter is released, haha.

I am a Canon guy myself... I have tried both and like the XS more.

Isn't there an issue with the D60 and lenses??

Oh, and I've heard Nikon has had some bad customer support reputation lately.

The issue with the d60 and lenses, is that if you put non af-s or af-I (basically any lens with an autofocus motor in it) on the d60 it wont autofocus. The reason being there is no autofocus motor in the d60 body. It used to be a bigger issue a year or so ago then it is now because now they realeased af-s versions of most of the main primes. Though I was just looking, and I thought they released a 50mm 1.8 with af-s but i could only find the 1.4 version.

well never used a d60 but ive used a d40 and ive heard the d60 is just a d40 only 10 mp. and i barely used a xs but used a xti. and IMO the xs wuld be better with same mp, but with sensor cleaning, able to use all canon lenses, canons awsom image quality IMO.