D80 vs 400D/D40x

basil4j

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

First post on this forum for me and I have the same old question ;)

Im new to photography and am looking at saving for a nice SLR.
I'd like to stick with either Nikon or Canon (leaning more towards Nikon ut again not so important).

Ideally I'd like my first camera to be the Nikon D80 but im finding it hard to justify spending the extra bit of $$ for my first body.

My main questions is, how long will a Canon 400D or Nikon D40x keep me happy before I feel the need to upgrade? Or should I wait a bit longer and go for the D80 as my first body?

I guess this is very much a personal decision but any input is appreciated!

Thanks for the feedback!

Alec

I should mention, thats I think I'd pick the 400D over the D40x due to the whole lense limitaitons of the D40x...any comments on that restriction?

FWIW I'm happy with my D40.

Hi :)

Do you find the limitation on the lenses you can use much of a disadvantage? Its a shame cause I realy like the rest of the camera :)

I would think it would be.

If you think you'll outgrow the D40/D40x in less than 2 years, get the D80. If you think you can go 2+ years with the D40/x and not be restricted then go with it.

Just remember that the D40/x would rule out many, cheaper, and wonderful Nikon AF lenses.

If I were in your shoes, I would get the D80 because of this fact. Granted, the D80 has many other great tools, too. If you don't think you need them, and don't think the lack of an internal AF-motor will hold you back, get the cheaper D40/x.

I would hope in 2 years I will of progressed a bit :)

Ps. I have an interest in landscape and animal photography.