Decent tripod setup for <= $150?

matt62485

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Let's face it, some of us are on a tight budget... at least I am. I NEED a decent tripod setup for the time being. I don't expect anything extravagant, but I'd like it to do the job and be sturdy. Mainly for a few pix I'm going to be taking of my sister who is pregnant and her baby when born.

Trying to stay $150 or less for the setup. If I can get a good base and upgrade the head later then I'll do so.

Please recommend me some? I've searched and found several, but not sure where to go. I'm sure you guys could lead me to a few right off hand and I could narrow it down to my one from there. :meh:

Matt. Im not a pro but i strongly suggest you go with a used higher end like manfrotto or similar product. You will be able to find a ball head used for cheap as well. If you go with a high quality like mentioned above you are probably getting something that even if used will still be in great or decent shape. I bought my setup here in the buy and sell section and basicly got a brand new setup. happy hunting

Thanks. I'll try the local camera shop who has suprisingly affordable prices and a selection of lightly used gear too. I guess thats an option I didn't really consider

I understand money tight but, your better off saving up for a better pod. I think a Pod should only be purchased once, its a waste to have to buy a second pod because the first one doesnt hold your gear and not to mention you turn your back for a split second and your gear goes smashing to the ground. what about using a table, counter top or pillow to support for now as you save and search for a pod?