Digital Canon Lens Question

NewPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Everybody,

This is my first post to the forums. Also, I am VERY new to photography, so please excuse my ignorance if this question is simple.

I have a digital Canon EOS Rebel XT with a standard EF-S 18-55mm lens. I recently purchased a 100-300mm Canon EF telephoto lense f/4.5-5.6 with USM and rear focusing which, from everything I've read about the EF-S mount being backward compatible with EF, should work fine on my camera.

However, the lense has a considerable amount of blur, which seems to be worse upon zooming in on items. I'm 100% certain this is not my hands shaking, as I've set it on a stable surface with the same results. The blur is noticeable both while looking through the viewfinder and in the photos.

Is there anything I'm missing regarding the use of an EF lense on an EF-S camera? Is there a setting I need to adjust? Or is it a bad lens?

Any help with this issue would be great. Again I apologize if this is something obvious, this is my first real experience using a telephoto lense on my camera.

Thank you all.

Please define the blur better, or better yet upload an example picture or two. It may just be that you are not focusing on the subject? Did you buy the lens new or second hand?

You are correct in thinking that the lens fits on your camera, so thats not the issue.

I'm also thinking your blur is not blur but actually a focus issue. On the lens, you should see a little switch that goes between AF and MF.
AF = Auto Focus
MF = Manual Focus

If its on MF, then the auto focusing will not go on and depending on where the focus ring is, its going to be mostly out of focus. So make sure its on AF or that you use the ring to manually focus.

Hi Everyone,